The Seven Dhatus/Tissues of The Body in Ayurveda

Know more about your body

Our Body is made of different various types of tissues or basic type of cells. Ayurveda describes of 7 dhatus in our body to perform all the body functions.

The Seven Dhatus or Tissues

In Ayurveda, the human body comprises seven dhatus or tissues known as the Rasa, Raktha, Mamsa, Medas, Asthi, Majja, and Shukra. In English anatomy, these classifications are:

  1. Rasa Dhatu- Plasma
  2. Raktha Dhatu- Blood
  3. Mamsa Dhatu- Muscles
  4. Medas Dhatu – Fat
  5. Asthi Dhatu- Bones
  6. Majja Dhatu- Nervous System/ Marrow
  7. Shukra Dhatu- Reproductive tissue.

One of the most intriguing facts of these dhatus is that they are the result of the previous dhatu formation. The five elements of nature or the Panchabhutas are also the compositions of the primary framework of the human body.

The dhatus even pave the way for the formation of Ojas, the essence of the human body that is a support system both physically and emotionally.

The hierarchy of dhatu formation in Ayurveda:

  1. Food consumed in broken down by Agni or digestive fire into two divisions of usable and waste. The removal of waste happens through the excretory system.
  2. The small intestines absorb the usable part of the food and assimilate them with the help of Agni.
  3. The Rasa Dhatu or the Plasma is the first in the order of Dhatus or Tissues.
  4. Once the rasa dhatu is complete, then the Raktha Dhatu or Blood tissue takes form.
  5. The Rakhta Dhatu paves the way for the formation of Mamsa Dhatu or muscles.
  6. Refining of Mamsa Dhatu gives way for Medha Dhatu or Fat that is also a lubricant for a body’s internal organs.
  7. The Agni (dhatuagni) further transforms the Medha Dhatu into Asthi Dhatu or the formation of Bone tissue.
  8. The Agni further transforms a small part of the Asthi Dhatu and transforms to Majja Dhatu or the Marrow or the nerve tissue.
  9. The Agni further process a part of Majja Dhatu and transforms them into Shukra Dhatu or the reproductive tissue that creates reproductive fluid for the human system.
  10. The final product that forms that is the Supreme Ojas which stores and provides the required nourishment for the body. The Supreme Dhatu is also known as the MahaDhatu in Ayurveda.

Having a thorough knowledge of these tissues helps in understanding the pathology and curing the ailments of the body effectively. These seven dhatus are also responsible for immunity. The Ayurvedic system follows a holistic treatment for each dhatus so that the problem is nipped in its bud without any future occurrences. Know more about Ayurveda and its effects at Liveright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *